In this paper researchers use data from 58, 3D scanned subjects to determine human body deformations that occur during breathing. The aim of this is to create a simple and efficient animation rig that can applied to any character and have them behave in a realistic method.

As a character artist I am always interested in new animation methods that can bring my work to life as it often means that I will have to adapt my workflow or work under new constraints so that my models and characters can be used in a wide range of situations. While character animation in video games still comparatively rough against film character animation (with their implementation of bone and muscle structures in the characters) I do believe that it is only a matter of time until this technology reaches video games.

Tsoli, A., Mahmood, N. and Black, M. (2014). Breathing life into shape. ACM Transactions on Graphics, 33(4), pp.1-11.

